TitleOld Peterborough Store Object TypeArtworkDatec.1988DescriptionPainting of the Old Coach House (Peterborough Store), Shellharbour, by Lorna Creagan.
The building to the rear left in the painting is the Shellharbour Municipal Council Chambers in Addison Street.CreatorCreagan, LornaProvenance and SignifcanceJohn Graham purchased this site from Thomas Alexander Reddall in 1856 and opened the Peterborough Store.
John leased the store in 1858 to his brother, Edward, who continued with the business and operated a Post Office on the premises.
Edward provided a room for Council meetings, prior to the establishment of the adjacent Council Chambers.
The Post Office was later transferred to Allen's Store in Addison Street in 1871.
Thomas Coughran, hotelier, purchased the store and was granted a Publican's license in 1872. The premises became The Royal Hotel and traded until 1890. In 1891 the hotel reverted to a residence.
In 1953, the building was purchased by the Shellharbour Worker's Club, and was demolished in 1956 to make way for a new club building.DonorCreagan, Lorna
Click on the image to add a tag or press ESC to cancel
Creagan, Lorna, Old Peterborough Store (c.1988). Shellharbour City Council, accessed 11/12/2025, https://discover.shellharbour.nsw.gov.au/nodes/view/12582