TitleDickson's New Royal Hotel, ShellharbourPhoto Number000152Date1920-1930DescriptionThe New Royal Hotel was opened in August 1891 by W. C. Yell. The land was originally purchased from T. A. Reddall by Robert Martin in 1855 for his Settler's Arms Inn, which was burnt down in 1872. The site was later purchased to build the New Royal by Henry Frederick Mood, coachbuilder and Councillor of the Municipality of Shellharbour. The launch of G.L. Fuller's coastal steamer, the S.S. 'Dunmore', built for the blue metal trade, was celebrated at the opening of the hotel. The New Royal was destroyed by fire in July 1931.PlaceSW cnr Addison & Wentworth StreetsLocationShellharbour VillageDonorRobinson, A.J.
Click on the image to add a tag or press ESC to cancel
Dickson's New Royal Hotel, Shellharbour (1920-1930). Shellharbour City Council, accessed 19/01/2026, https://discover.shellharbour.nsw.gov.au/nodes/view/4095