NameLittle ParkTypePark/ReserveGeolocation[1] AddressWollongong Street, Shellharbour VillageDescriptionThe fig trees that dominate this park feature in the early photographs of the township. It was to such trees that Constable Smithers, the first police officer in the town, reputedly had to tether his prisoners prior to the first watchhouse being built.
On Arbor Day in 1895, 350 residents including Archibald Campbell (who planted the first tree), Thomas Armstrong (Mayor) & Mrs. J McGill (the oldest female resident), gathered to plant the row of 45 Norfolk Island pines that line the beachfront today.
These plantings are consistent with the Victorian practice of beautifying local areas and the beginning of the promotion of the area as a tourist destination. Situated immediately adjacent to the harbour, Little Park was the site for the early boat store.
This foreshore land was the focus for much of the activity in the early years of the private township, layout in 1851 on land originally granted to D’Arcy Wentworth.
The local Progress Association was granted a site for rock baths on the waterfront, formed in 1895 which also attracted tourists. The seafront was always a favoured relaxing spot, with more and more visitors travelling to the village via the railway, even as its use as a port waned. Since early settlement and into the 21st century, Shellharbour retains its tourism attraction.